top of page

Studio HILO Residency 2019

In a 2 week residency in Berlin, I added some features to the software for HILO, a digital-spinning-machine, and did a small amount of work on the physical machine. The HILO project is completely open source.

(Version 1. Version 3 has many improvements.)


I met Sara at Dutch Design Week, and admired the version 1 machine. She ended up inviting me to Berlin to do some work on it. Sara, Natalija, and the intern Vera Castelijns, were great to work with, and I'm very disappointed that COVID prevented a return.


The design program was written in Processing, and generated a g-code like output for the Arduino controlled machine.


Studio HILO now has a version 3 machine, and is planning on releasing a carding machine in 2022.

Recent Posts

See All

Arduino Workshop for Unravel The Code

I gave a 5 hour workshop/introduction to CircuitPython for the 2021 MICA class Unravel The Code. The goal was to give a taste of micro-controller programming with engaging interactions. In 2021 we wer

Student Projects: Unravel The Code

I've been a technical advisor to the students in Unravel The Code, providing advice, guidance, and technical solutions. You can find each year's final projects under "Projects" at https://unrvl.net. T

IMG_1849.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I am Alan Grover, a technical consultant to artists, as well as a creative designer in my own right.

Other relevant skills:
I can ride a bike.
I like the Dutch. Also Berliners.
Mid-level fire-building.
I can camp away from a car.

Sarcasm.
Not quite famous for toilet & brick photos.
I don't know anyone famous.
Well liked by several people.
Read _all_ of Anais Nin, and most of Christopher Alexander.
Other useful skills by request.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page