top of page

Telepresence Workshop International Collaboration for Unravel The Code



In October 2020, I ran part of a workshop for classes across 3 institutions as part of an intensive 5 day program of international collaboration around art and making. A colleague in Belgium, Frederik De Bleser, and I worked on the code, and he did a section of the workshop. This workshop built on the preceding Part 1: CircuitPython and the Circuit Playground Express workshop, by my colleague in Baltimore, Paul Mirel.


My part of the workshop implemented a sketch of telepresence (remote touch) across the the internet. We used the Circuit Playground Express (CPE), bespoke software on the CPE, a Processing sketch to handle the actual internet communication, and an MQTT server. All the bespoke software is in a git repository.


I structure my workshops for non-programmers as a series of small exercises, and bits of professional programming practice expressed as humor. I try to pack several goals into my workshops, notably not trying to turn artists into programmers. I show them patterns in the structure of code, clues about where to customize code, comfort with experimenting and breaking code, and where more information can be found. The workshops tend to be quite long, 4-5 hours. We like to group students so they can learn from and support each other.


This workshop was the first I did that was entirely remote. It went surprisingly well, because I had a large support staff: at least 4 technical people patrolled the Discourse and Zoom to answer questions, as well, the instruction team provided a lot of preparation (distributing CPE's, infrastructure, etc). The students also could help each other via Discourse and Zoom.


In the culmination of 5-day collaboration, the students produced works around the idea of remote-touch. None of them used the code or mechanisms we taught in the workshops, but I hope the hands-on workshop inspired them in their actual projects (which were quite sophisticated).


I've extracted and re-used some pieces of the bespoke software, notably the "find an Arduino serial port" code from the Processing sketch.


You may find the presentation notes amusing.


Recent Posts

See All

Lab Instruments

I've built, or upgraded, a couple of devices for science labs. Peristaltic Pump Ryan Hoover, designed, built, and programmed the original system (4 major hardware redesigns!). I upgraded the control s

Arduino Workshop for Unravel The Code

I gave a 5 hour workshop/introduction to CircuitPython for the 2021 MICA class Unravel The Code. The goal was to give a taste of micro-controller programming with engaging interactions. In 2021 we wer

Student Projects: Unravel The Code

I've been a technical advisor to the students in Unravel The Code, providing advice, guidance, and technical solutions. You can find each year's final projects under "Projects" at https://unrvl.net. T

IMG_1849.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I am Alan Grover, a technical consultant to artists, as well as a creative designer in my own right.

Other relevant skills:
I can ride a bike.
I like the Dutch. Also Berliners.
Mid-level fire-building.
I can camp away from a car.

Sarcasm.
Not quite famous for toilet & brick photos.
I don't know anyone famous.
Well liked by several people.
Read _all_ of Anais Nin, and most of Christopher Alexander.
Other useful skills by request.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page